Marchathon 2019

Marchathon Step Challenge

Marchathon is the annual Smarter Travel Workplaces & Campus Walking Challenge that runs in March each year. It is open to Workplaces & Third Level Campuses who are Partners of the Smarter Travel Campus Programme. The 2019 Challenge ran from Monday the 4th to Friday the 29th of March.


2019 Winners

Winning Teams

Best Team Average:  The Spring Walkers, Dublin City Council

Best Team Average (Desk Based): Mary and her Minions, Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology*

Best Improved Team: Steps for Humanity, University College Dublin

Winning Organisations

Best Workplace (Large): Health Products Regulatory Authority

Best Workplace (Small): Clifton Scannel Emerson Associates

Best Campus: Cork Institute of Technology

End of Challenge Winners

Best Coordinator Winners

  • Liz Giltrap, HPRA – Health Products Regulatory Authority
  • Carolina Dominguez , Accenture
  • Shane Gubbins, Arup
  • Anita Mahony, GMIT
  • Jennifer Mullins, Cook Medical

There were lots of people across the country nominated by their fellow team mates for motivating and inspiring them throughout the challenge. Check out the full list of TEAM CAPTAIN Nominations and TEAM MEMBER Nominations.

Best Team Captain – Winner: Lydia Fowley, Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Best Team Captain -Runners up:

  • Mary Russell, Galway Mayo IT
  • David McGlynn, Health Products Regulatory Authority
  • Ahmad Tariq, University College Cork
  • Bernie Lehane, Cork Institute of Technology
  • Gautam Shanbhag, Dublin City University

Best Team Member – Winner: John Tierney, Eir

Best Team Member – Runners Up:

  • Miriam Deasy, Cork Institute of Technology
  • Ricarda Steinmayr, NUI Galway
  • Kathleen Williamson, University College Cork
  • Bruna Seabra, Oracle
  • Guillaume Virolle, Paypal

Participant Evaluation Prize Draw Winner: Aitana Fernandez, LinkedIn

Marchathon ‘In My Shoes’ Winner: Pauline Mooney , Children’s Health Ireland at Crumlin

Marchathon ‘In My Shoes’ Runners Up:

  • Alison Somerville, South Dublin County Council
  • Treasa Kenny, Maynooth University
  • Aine Reville, Dublin City University
  • Catherine Arnold, Galway Mayo IT
  • Siddra Maryam, Tyndall
  • Mary O’Shaughnessy, Dublin City Council
  • Ciara Mc Nelis, Symantec
  • Heidi Schoenenberger, NUI Galway
  • Martina Hogan, Dublin City Council
  • Moynihan, Noreen Moynihan, University College Cork
  • Terry Crotty, Cook Medical
  • Rose Cullen, PayPal
  • Peter Muller, Dublin City Council
  • Celine Reichembach, PayPal
  • Anne Thompson, Children’s Health Ireland at Crumlin
  • Stephen Cull, Dublin City Council
  • Alison Somerville, South Dublin City Council
  • Belinda Clarke, PayPal

To check out the spot prize competition winners and lots of photos from steppers throughout the challenge visit


Competitions and Prizes

There are Three leaderboards – Average Steps, Best Improvers and a Desk Based leaderboard.

Average Steps – Pretty simple, whichever team walks the most wins!

Best Improvers – for the teams that consistently walk throughout the challenge, building up their steps.

Desk Based – for teams who are mainly desk based throughout the week.

Prizes – Lots of Marchathon Goodies

But this truly is a challenge about taking part. There are team photo competitions, story competitions, prizes for best captains/team members, weekly prize draws.

You can see the winners of those competitions on our social media pages:

Instagram/Facebook:  smartertravelcampus Twitter@Stcampus



2019 Participating Workplaces and Campuses

  • Accenture
  • Analog Devices International
  • Arup
  • Athlone Institute of Technology
  • Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • BDP
  • Clifton Scannell Emerson Associates
  • Cook Medical
  • Cork City Council
  • Cork County Council
  • Cork Institute of Technology
  • Cork University Hospital
  • Deloitte
  • Dublin City Council
  • Dublin City University
  • Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
  • eir
  • FINEOS Corporation
  • Galway City Council
  • GMIT
  • Health Products Regulatory Authority
  • IADT
  • Johnson and Johnson Vision Care
  • Letterkenny Institute of Technology
  • Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board
  • Limerick City and County Council
  • Limerick IT
  • LinkedIn
  • Mary Immaculate College, Limerick
  • Maynooth University
  • Medtronic Mervue Galway
  • National Transport Authority
  • Northern Trust
  • NUI Galway
  • Oracle Emea Ltd
  • Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital
  • Paypal
  • Rabobank Dublin
  • South Dublin County Council
  • St Vincent’s University Hospital
  • Symantec
  • Three Ireland
  • Transport Infrastructure Ireland
  • Transport Insights
  • Trinity College Dublin
  • Trinity Biotech
  • TU Dublin – Blanchardstown Campus
  • TU Dublin – City Campus
  • University College Cork
  • University College Dublin
  • University of Limerick
  • Waterford Institute of Technology
Back to top