What is the Step Challenge?


We have News!  

This year the Step Challenge is open to organisations that are not yet partners of the Smarter Travel programme. 

What is the Step Challenge?

The Step Challenge is a fun, free walking challenge where teams of 3-6 people aim to increase their daily step counts, to have fun and to win prizes!

When does the 2017 Step Challenge start?

The National Transport Authority’s 10th annual walking challenge will take place from Monday 4th of September to Sunday 1st of October 2017.

So get out your walking shoes and get ready to feel good and have fun!


How do I take part?

Check if your workplace is participating – Then get together with your workmates to form a team of 3-6 people before the Challenge starts on the 4th of September 2017.

Give your team a name and nominate a Team Captain. There will be a draw for Team Captain prizes at the end of the Challenge. Each participant needs to have a working email address.

Your Team Captain will be the main point of contact for your team and will set up your team on our new Active Travel Logger website.

Once the team is registered, all participants can set up their own account on the Active Travel Logger to log their own steps. If you don’t have access to a PC, tablet or smart phone, don’t worry – your Team Captain can still log on your behalf. Or if for some reason you can’t log your details on a given day, again your Team Captain can do this for you.

Your internal Workplace Coordinator and the National Coordinators will be in touch to let you know about competitions, prizes, leader-boards etc. once we are live.

Where do I get the App or a Step Counter?

Participants can download our free Smarter Travel Step Counter app for iOS and Android smart phones. The app will sync your steps to the Active Travel Logger, so no need to write everything down as you go.

If you have a step counter from a previous challenge, or if you’ve got a fitness tracker or an app on your smart phone, you’re welcome to use these too – but remember to log into your account on the Active Travel Logger to update your steps on a regular basis. Your Team Captain can also log on your behalf.

If you wish to buy a step counter, we have a limited stock available to purchase through this website using PayPal (purchase details will be updated in August).

As all step counters will track steps slightly differently, no matter which step counter you use, you must use the same one from start to finish of the challenge.


Is My Workplace Participating?

Participating workplaces will be added to the list below as they sign up.  If your organisation is not listed below, please contact stepchallenge@nationaltransport.ie

1. AIB – Adelaide Road, Dublin 2
2. American Chamber of Commerce
3. Apple
4. Aramark
5. Arup
6. Atkins
7. BAE Systems Ireland
8. BD Medical
9. Bio Medical Research Ltd
10. Clifton Scannell Emerson Associates
11. Cork City Council
12. Cork County Council
13. Coupa
14. Deloitte
15. Department of Transport Tourism & Sport
16. Dublin City Council
17. Dublin City University
18. Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council
19. eir
20. ESB
22. Health & Safety Authority, Cork
23. Henkel Ireland
24. IBM Dublin Software Lab
25. IKEA
26. Irish Prison Service
27. Jacobs
28. Johnson Controls
29. KBC Bank Ireland plc
30. Limerick City & County Council
31. Limerick institute of Technology
32. LinkedIn Ireland
33. Maynooth University
34. Meath County Council
35. Medtronic Mervue Galway
36. Merchants Quay Ireland
37. National Rehabilitation Hospital
38. Northern Trust
39. Oracle Emea Ltd
40. Premier Lotteries Ireland
41. Rabobank Dublin
42. Roughan & O’Donovan
43. Sligo University Hospital
44. South Dublin County Council
45. St John of God Hospital
46. St Vincent’s University Hospital
47. Symantec
48. Takeda Ireland Ltd
49. Temple Street Children’s University Hospital
50. The Mater Private Hospital Cork
51. Three Ireland
52. Transport Infrastructure ireland
53. Trinity College
54. University College Dublin
55. University of Limerick
56. Waterford Institute of Technology

Back to top