Smarter Travel Awards

Smarter Travel Awards 2017 – Are YOU ready to be recognised?

We will be announcing details of the Smarter Travel Awards 2017 here shortly!

Student Smarter Travel Multimedia Awards 2016

marter Travel Multimedia Award winners Lisa Lorraine Hester, Kate Healy, Laura Meaney and 2nd place winner Rebecca Walsh

Smarter Travel Multimedia Award winners Lisa Lorraine Hester, Kate Healy, Laura Meaney and 2nd place winner Rebecca Walsh

Students from colleges in Limerick were awarded for creating fantastic videos, animations and poster illustrations for the National Transport Authority’s annual Multimedia Awards 2016. The awards were held in the Bell Table Theatre in Limerick on Tuesday 26th of April 2016. The entries produced by students encourage others to choose ‘smarter’ modes of transport, particularly walking, cycling, public transport and car sharing. A few entries even included skateboarding!

The overall winners of this award were Kate Healy & Laura Meaney from Limerick Institute of Technology for their fantastic video Walking isn’t that ruff and Lisa Lorraine Hester from Limerick College of Further Education for her magnificent artistic illustration, time travel.

“The awards offered us a great opportunity to put into practice what we study during our course at LIT. The concept for our video was to explore the historic streets and forgotten beautiful locations in and around Limerick from the perspective of our wonderful actor Hooch, the dog. We are just over the moon at winning the award and representing Limerick in the Smarter Travel Multimedia Awards” Kate Healy and Laura Meaney.

“The Smarter Travel Multimedia Awards offers the students an excellent environment to showcase their creative and digital story telling skills within a real world scenario. We are delighted to have won the award in 2015 and to win again this year demonstrates the high calibre of both our students and our programme” Denise McEvoy, Lecturer BSc in Multimedia Programming & Design.

In second place were Michael Boyle from the University of Limerick and Rebecca Walsh from Limerick College of Further Education who produced a brilliant video and poster respectively. A special prize was also awarded to a group of students from the University of Limerick who wrote a musical rap promoting the benefits of walking and cycling.

View winning entries here and on our social media pages and @STcampus

Smarter Travel Awards 2015

2015 Results: Galway University Hospitals were awarded Smarter Travel Workplace of the Year and the University of Limerick was recognised as the Smarter Travel Campus of the Year.

The Smarter Travel Awards 2015 Ceremony took place on March 26th 2015 at an event in the Ashling Hotel.

Partners of the Smarter Travel Workplaces and Smarter Travel Campus programme from around the country submitted entries to the awards competition which recognise and celebrate the efforts that workplaces and campuses make to promote sustainable travel.

More information relating to the winning entries under all Award Categories

Read about the Student Media Competition Winners

GUH and UL

Picking up their awards: Seán Collins, University of Limerick; Geoff Ginnetty, Galway University Hospitals; Ross Higgins, University of Limerick