Marchathon 2018

Marchathon  – The Campus 10,000 Step Challenge

Marchathon is the annual Smarter Travel Campus Walking Challenge that runs in March each year. It is open to all Third Level Campuses who are Partners of the Smarter Travel Campus Programme. 

Marchathon 2018 Leaderboard Winners!

Congratulations to the teams at the top of the leaderboards and well done to EVERYONE who took part. 

Marchathon 2018 runs from Monday 26th February to Friday 23rd March. 


Competitions and Prizes

There are TWO leaderboards – Average Steps and Best Improvers.

Average Steps – Pretty simple, whichever team walks the most wins!

Best Improvers – for the teams that consistently walk throughout the challenge, building up their steps. 

Prizes – FitBits, Bluetooth headphones and Marchathon Goodie Bags.

But this truly is a challenge about taking part. There are team photo competitions, story competitions, prizes for best captains/team members, weekly prize draws.   

Get involved to be in with a chance of winning One4All Vouchers and Marchathon Goodie bags.

Follow Us on Social Media:

Instagram/Facebook:  smartertravelcampus Twitter@Stcampus


How to Sign Up

To take part, staff and students will need to:

  1. Get into a team of 3-6 people, including the captain!
  2. Sign up online 
  3. Get a step counter (i.e. download the free Smarter Travel Step counter app for Apple and Android, buy a pedometer, use a fit bit, iPod or other step tracking device)
  4. During the Challenge:  log steps online 

More information on the registration process on Active Travel Logger can be found here (opens in a separate window).

Questions? Email:


Participating Campuses

– Athlone Institute of Technology
– Cork Institute of Technology
– Dublin City University
– Dublin Institute of Technology
– Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology
– Galway Mayo Institute of Technology
– Institute of Technology Blanchardstown
– Institute of Technology Sligo
– Institute of Technology, Tralee
– Letterkenny Institute of Technology
– Limerick College of Further Education
– Limerick Institute of Technology
– Mary Immaculate College
– Maynooth University
– National University of Ireland Galway
– Trinity College Dublin
– University College Cork
– University College Dublin
– University of Limerick
– Waterford Institute of Technology

Back to top