Student Cycle Challenge 2014: Winners

Congratulations to all of the teams who took part!

Overall Winners

The overall winners of the 2014 Student Cycle Challenge are:

1st place – The Victorious Vets, University College Dublin

2nd place – The BIOTECHS, Limerick Institute of Technology

3rd place – Shameless Cycling, Trinity College Dublin

Best Campus Award

The Winning Campus is the University of Limerick!

Best On-Campus Implementation Team Award

This award also goes to the on-campus team from the University of Limerick, Ross Higgins & Sean Collins, for their efforts to promote and support this event on-campus.

Spot Prize Competition Winners

Register Early Winners: Trinity Twinkle Tyres (captain Brendan Marsh) & Jessica’s tripple tits, Mary Immaculate College (captain: Dónal Kelly).

Refer a friend to the challenge prize draw winner: Julianne O’Connell

Winners of the Team Photo Competition are:

– Late night lions NUIM
– The Dirty-Dutch-Poitìn Cycling Team DIT
– SLTS2B, University of Limerick
– Pedal Pushers team from University of Limerick
– Art-Driven -Cycle Team Art Driven Cycle by Fine Art Dept IT Sligo
– Halford Edge Racers Cork IT
– Wheels of Glory TCD
– Shameless Cycling Trinity
– SLTS2B University of Limerick
– Pirate Revolution TCD
– Planta Hallucis UCD Health Science
– UL’s Holy Rollers
– The Sci-clists UCD
– PDT Team UL
– NUIG We know how to roll
– Full Pedal Jacket UL
– The Blackberries UL
– Team R.E.C UCD

Congratulations!! Check out their fantastic photos on or in our Student Cycle Challenge photo gallery

Congratulations to the Find the Time to Cycle Posters Winners

– Team R.E.C UCD
– Wacky Racers UCD
– Vets4life UCD
– The Avengers IT Sligo
– Tenelach  IT Sligo

Winners of the Social Media competition are:

– James Cantwell, Ultimate Pedal Pushers DIT
– Jack Roche, The Victorious Vets UCD
– Ciara Corcoran, Wheely Spoketacular TCD
– Kevin Dunne, PDT
– Sofie Dragsted, Awesome Wheels UL
– Thomas Fahy, NUIG We Know How To Roll!

Winner of the Best Regular Cyclist Story Competition: Lia McCann, Trinity College

Goodie packs will also be awarded to the following people for sharing their fantastic cycle challenge stories:

– Carlos Garcia,  Trinity College
– Phillip Garrad, Maynooth University
– Justyna Dubis, IT Sligo
– Kirsten Nelson-Burke, Trinity College
– Sarah McDonagh, Trinity College
– Stephen Lee, Trinity College

Winner of the Best New Cyclist Cycle Challenge Story: Ciara Meikle, UL

Goodie packs will also be awarded to the following New Cyclists for sharing their fantastic cycle challenge stories:

– Ziyanda Shologu, IT Sligo
– Therese Ambrois, TCD
– Zaira Arshad, IT Sligo
– Albert Wilkinson, UCD
– Josh O’Regan, UL
– Colin Dowling, DCU
– Kate Kiely, TCD

You can read some of the Cycle Challenge Stories here.

Nominate Your Team Captain Winner: Laura McKay
Team captain runners up:
– Kate Kiely
– Stephen Johnson
– Jordan Broders

Nominate Your Team Member Winner: Colin Dowling
Team member runners up:
– Justyna Dubis
– Siobhan Shanaghy
– Grainne Harrahill
– Eadaoin Slattery
– Kieran Ralph

Lots of captains and members were nominated by their team members for their fantastic enthusiasm throughout the challenge. You can read some of the nominations here.

Evaluation prize draw winner: Ziyanda Shologu
Evaluation runners up:
– Orla Hammond
– Fiachra Sherry

We will also send goodie bags to teams in the top 20 positions on the final leaderboard who have not already won challenge goodies to acknowledge their fantastic participation and great efforts throughout the challenge!!

You will be sent an email as soon as your prizes have arrived at
your campus. Congratulations!