Past Cycle challenge

Smarter Travel’s Annual Cycle Challenge takes place this year from 8th – 28th May 2019. The Cycle Challenge is for staff and students of all cycling abilities, from beginners and returning cyclists to occasional and experienced cyclists. The Challenge is open to staff and student of all Smarter Travel Workplace and Campus partners.

What is the Cycle Challenge?
The Cycle Challenge is a fun, free, trip based team event where every trip taken by bike puts your team in with a chance to win some fantastic prizes! There will be lots of prizes on offer with the chance to won a top prize of a €500 voucher for a cycling holiday or Blue Book break.

How do I take part?
Get a team of 3-6 people together, and log the total number of cycling trips that you cycle every day. There is no minimum number of trips required, so don’t worry if you’re taking your time building up trips. The main thing is taking part, supporting your colleagues and having fun on your bike! Once your team has a name and a Captain, participants can register for the challenge at  

There will also be a distance based prize each week for individuals who want to clock up and record their kilometres, but the aim of the challenge is more trips with your team!

Please see:

  • here for the coordinators guide (this contains information for cyclists in addition to ways on how to promote cycling in your organisation!;
  • here for the participants guide; and
  • here for a link to a printable version of our poster!

Some comments from last year’s participants on their experiences of the Challenge:

  • “Great to be back on the bike”
  • “Saved money”
  • “Enjoyed a different route every day”
  • “I have continued to cycle every day!! – I love it!!”

Participating workplaces and campuses will be listed here when and as they register, or keep an eye out for posters advertising the Challenge where you are. You’ll then be able to go over to, register (if you haven’t already) and join the Cycle Challenge with your workplace.  

Participating Workplaces

Participating Campuses

Back to top